Tags

, , , , , ,

Originally published on Facebook.

My friend…. I see you.

It’s New Year’s Eve. You had hopes, a year ago, that 2016 would be “your year”.
God chose to give you pain and hurt, loss and loneliness.
.
My friend…. I know you.
You hoped that this year you would find someone who matched you. Who you could be alongside and have communion with, serving God and loving each other.
God chose to give you singleness.
.
My friend…. I hear you.
You’re the popular one. Everybody thinks you’re smart, and funny, and they leave heart emoticons on your profile pictures. But you have no true Friends to confide in, to hear your heart, to hold you close through the ups and downs of life.
God has given you loneliness.
.
My friend…. I see you.
The more people you see dating and getting married, the more keenly you feel that you are beyond understanding and love.
God has given you brokenness.
.
My friend… I know you.
The new year that everyone else is celebrating feels like the gong of a heavy clock, and you wonder why God is so silent. You want to have hopes and dreams and resolutions and new enthusiasm, but you just don’t.
God has given you a season of drought.
.
My friend, He knows you.
He has given you what is best for you.
He will provide for you.
Our Father does not give a snake when we ask for a fish.
Sometimes fish look like snakes to us.
Trust Him.
He loves you.
And I do, too.
.
Happy new year, my friends. May God restore all that is broken.
.
“He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed.”

 

15740931_2004093669818015_8106883621274681695_n

